Good Morning October 9

We have a time of general prayer in our worship on Sundays. We invite prayers from the congregation and then have a series of regular petitions we include. Each week we pray for the leaders of our government. The prayer always asks that they be guided by a wisdom that is beyond themselves. In reading the accounts in the Old Testament we see God directing kings and rulers for His purpose. For example, He says of Cyrus, King of Persia, ‘He is my shepherd and will accomplish all that I please;” and “I will raise up Cyrus in my righteousness: I will make all his ways straight. He will rebuild my city and set my exiles free…”(Isaiah 44:28, 25:13) Cyrus was a pagan king, as were the rulers of Babylon before him. Yet God moved pagan kings to accomplish His purpose. Nothing is out of our Lord’s hands. We are charged in Scripture to pray for our leaders, whether they are believers or not. It seems right to me, especially in the difficult times we face, to ask our Lord to guide them with a wisdom and direction that is beyond themselves, that they will serve in ways that are for the good of our people, and beyond any political considerations of their own.

