Good Morning October 31

I can’t say Halloween has been one of my favorite days. Oh, I dressed up and went trick or treating as a kid, but I always wondered why there was so much decorating with spiders, webs, tombstones, witches, and ghosts, when every other time of year we stay away from these things. As I’ve grown older I’ve become more aware of the spiritual battle we face in the world, and very cautious about anything that seems to recognize the occult or glorify the devil. It is fun to dress up as various characters. Kids certainly like to show off their costumes to neighbors, and of course the candy is a great incentive. On Halloween, as every other time of year, we want everything we do to give honor to our Saviour. This doesn’t mean we can’t have fun. I can picture our Lord having great fun in playful times with His disciples and friends. It is just that we choose our fun wisely to honor the Lord and to build up His people.

