Good Morning March 7

“Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained by a righteous life.”(Proverbs 16:31) Well, I’ve got an ample amount of gray hair, and I always hope that with that gray comes a bit of wisdom gained from the years. As to righteousness, the only part of that I claim is what has been granted me by the Lord’s sacrifice. I do, as you, stand in the righteousness of Jesus Christ before the Father because He has made the exchange of my sin for His righteousness. Any right actions beyond that are what the Spirit of Christ has been able to work in my, our, life. I believe gray hair is an advantage, except perhaps for the aches and pains that come with it. The things that once seemed important, now are far less so. The focus of life goes more to prayer for, and aid of, those who will follow us, and the time for us to enter the full joy of our Master grows ever shorter. I hope you appreciate your gray hairs as they come. Oh not for the age related nuisances that come with it, but for the realization of the abundant grace that has been poured out upon us, in good times and in bad, over many years. That really is God’s crown of splendor.

