Good Morning May 13

Years ago, one of our members worked for a university laboratory doing research for a government space project. He remarked how incredibly complex the overall system was. There were multiple computer systems monitoring every aspect, each with its own fail safe shutdown mode. Every aspect had to function with precise timing or the entire system would not work. We call this progress and laud the wonders of our technological age. Yet at the same time we have complicated and put great pressure on our lives by this world we’ve made. Our God created us. We were designed so that our basic needs were really very minimal. Paul wrote to Timothy saying, “If we have our food and clothing we shall be content.”(I Timothy 6:8) I’m not really advocating anything here, and I’m not ready to give up many of the things I have, but we do need to realize the pressure we put on ourselves by our lifestyle. Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” (John 14:27) Our desire is to live in the Lord’s peace. And if we have to forgo some of the “good” things the world offers, maybe that really is better.

