Good Morning July 11

I made part of our living by running a woodworking shop for thirty years. I’ve made a lot of furniture, built in cabinets, and done refinishing and repair work. I did some good work, but the jobs that I remember most are the ones I messed up, the ones where I didn’t make the customer happy. Sins are like that. Things we’ve done in the past, we wish had never happened. But it is just here that the grace of our God is such a blessing. “When we confess our sins He is faithful and just to forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”(I John 1:9) We have the assurance that, in the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, God does not hold our sins against us. “I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.”(Isaiah 43:25) Our memory is still there, but through the forgiving grace of God our guilt is removed. The power of Satan to use our past against us is broken. We may have to deal with the consequences of our past actions, just as I had to make the jobs done for customers right, but their power to bind us is gone. “As far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.”(Psalm 103:12) This is the freedom and true joy we have in our relationship with our Holy Lord.

