Good Morning July 22

Yesterday I wrote about our desire to feel good in our various aspects of life. As I thought about it, it revealed something I don’t like to face – my deeply ingrained selfishness. The “I want” is deeply rooted in my being. It is what led our first parents to fall. It continues to do so in me, and in all humanity. Paul asked the Philippians to “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.”(2:3-4) This is so hard for us to do, and in fact, impossible in our own strength. It is our Lord, Himself, who gave the only true act of completely selfless love in giving His life in ransom for the sins of all mankind. It is only He, working in my spirit, who can overcome the selfish desires that drive me. It is a daily battle to yield to the Spirit of Christ allowing Him to work through me. Only then does something come forth that really values others above myself.

