Good Morning August 14

A young man asked me yesterday, is it a sin to doubt, and how do you ever get rid of them? Unfortunately, doubts are common to all of us. I wrote about Peter’s doubts in Matthew 14 that caused him to begin to sink when he looked at the storm. Jesus gave him a mild rebuke, then reached out and took his hand. The Psalmist begins the 13th Psalm by crying out “How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever? How long will you hide your face from me?” That’s a feeling many of us have had. So, doubts have a way a assailing us all. I don’t think the question is about the doubts themselves, but what do we do beyond the doubts. The 13th Psalm ends by saying, “But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the Lord for He has been good to me.” Whatever is causing the doubts today, we look past that to all the Lord has already done for us. In Him we have our salvation and life. In this truth we keep walking forward in spite of our doubts.

