Good Morning August 15

In the morning we are sometimes asked, “did you have a good night? Did you rest well?” A good night’s sleep is important. We need our rest in order to have the energy for the day’s activities. The Bible talks a lot about rest, but not the rest of sleep. The Lord knows we need that, but His rest is something far deeper. “Come unto me all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest,” Jesus said. (Matthew 11:28) True rest is a complete trust in the One who has given His life for us. Paul had learned this through many hardships. He wrote to the Philippians, “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”(4:12-13) This is certainly not easy, but when our eyes are focused on Jesus, we realize that there is a truth far greater and stronger than what we presently face, whether it is good or bad. We can learn to rest in Jesus. We enjoy our sleep because we put aside all of our cares, and abandon ourselves to our beds. We rest in Jesus when we lay our care upon Him, and trust in His strength. That is a far better rest.

