Good Morning January 9

Americans place a tremendously high value on freedom. Our Constitution declares our freedom of religion, speech, press, assembly, and others. These are important and we continually vigilant to maintain them. However, what we don’t realize is that we are really bound in other ways. A right relationship with Almighty God is the greatest treasure we can have. That treasure has been won for us at Calvary’s cross. Having been won, and given to us by grace, we are called to trust God for all aspects of life. In that trust is true freedom. But we, and I speak personally as well, bind ourselves from that complete trust by our life style, our material possession, debt, fear of the future, and the love of anything more that we love our Lord. The list is long and personal, but the things that bind us from complete trust in our Lord are more serious than external forces that deny us of our free speech, press, and the others. Freedom to trust completely is something that is won day by day, and item by item as we hear and respond to Jesus’ invitation “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

