Good Morning January 16

I had a recent e-mail exchange with a good friend of mine. He had asked me a question about why the members of another Christian congregation were allowing such and such a thing to be happening there. I responded by saying that once people begin to set aside various portions of Scripture as not applicable today, it is fairly easy to justify much of what they want to do. After a while people no longer know what is true, what is God pleasing, and what is not. The Prophet Hosea wrote, “my people are destroyed from lack of knowledge.”(4:6) Our God is the One who gives us life. He intends our life to be good, and come into a full bond with His life, but that can only happen if we understand the way He intends life to function. In our fallen nature we pit our will, our idea of life, against God’s. This never works. This is sin. God in His grace has made the way for cleansing, forgiveness, and a new beginning in Jesus Christ, but He doesn’t change His plan for life. He gives us His Word to show us the right path to life. He has given us His Spirit to guide us into His truth. What more could He do? Jesus gave us the invitation, “Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”(Matthew 11:29) In accepting His invitation we find life.

