Good Morning February 25

As long as we are alive we struggle with sin and temptation. We can all identify with Paul’s struggle with his sinful nature – “for what I do is not the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do.” (Romans7:19) And Peter said that “Satan prowls like a roaring lion seeking someone to devour.” (I Peter5:8) We all have choices to make, and many times we make those choices in ways that displease God. We can’t excuse it as “not so bad,” or “everyone does it,” or “it’s not my fault.” We made the choice, and we sinned. If we are serious about trying to live in a way that honors our Lord, we cry out with Paul, “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death?” But then we realize the truth of the very next statement he makes, “thanks be to God – through Jesus Christ our Lord!” (vss.24-25) No, we can’t excuse ourselves, but we can throw ourselves on the mercy of Christ, who forgives and restores. That is the great truth we see throughout this Lenten Season.

