Good Morning June 15

Paul had an encounter with the Apostle Peter which must have been pretty strong. Telling of it in Galatians two he says, “when Cephas came to Antioch, I opposed him to his face, because he stood condemned.”(vs.11) The issue of accepting Gentiles into the church had been settled, but there were groups of Jews who still wanted the new Gentile converts to conform to Jewish law. Peter knew what was right, but apparently he drew back from a group of Gentile Christians when the Jews objected. Paul opposed him because he wasn’t acting sincerely according to his beliefs. We can sympathize a bit with Peter. We’ve all been in that position. “What? You want me to pray in a public restaurant?” “I really need to be careful what I say around my unbelieving neighbors. I don’t want to offend them.” etc. etc. But Paul is calling us to stand firm on our faith. We don’t have to be ‘in your face’ Christians, but we do have the greatest message in the world that all need to see and hear in the love of Jesus. That should not be compromised.

