Good Morning August 10

​They say, “like father, like son”. I can remember when I was a kid, I wanted to be where my dad was, doing what he was doing. If he was out in the yard, that’s where I wanted to be. I learned how to splice an electrical wire, and to change a wall outlet from him. We did a number of basic carpentry things together. Dad took the family to church each week, and led the music in the Sunday School room. What was important to my father was important to me. What he didn’t particularly care about, sports in particular, neither did I. Like father, like son. All of this is to emphasize the importance of the leadership role a father plays in the life of his children, both sons and daughters. It is the only place they really learn what a man is supposed to be, and how a man treats and respects others. A father is also to be a man of faith leading his family into the lasting values that truly matter. Dads are not perfect. We make lots of mistakes, but we keep our purpose and goal in mind. We pray for God’s wisdom to do and say what is needed. We pray for our kids that the Holy Spirit will work in their hearts guiding them into right paths. All of the fun times will one day be only memories. All of the financial security is a passing and shallow comfort. As best God gives us the grace to do it we want to leave our children the one legacy that is really lasting, the image of a man who loves them in the same way Jesus loves us all.

