Good Morning August 31

“I am afraid that schools will prove to be wide gates to hell unless they diligently labor in explaining the Holy Scriptures, engraving them in the hearts of youth. I advise no one to place his child where the Scriptures do not reign paramount. Every institution in which men are not constantly occupied with the Word of God must become corrupt.” I ran across this interesting quote that really reflects upon our modern times. Yet these words were written in the 16th century by Martin Luther. They echo much earlier word from Moses. “These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.” (Deuteronomy 6:6-7) The simply truth is that when we relegate our Lord to a secondary place, or only one possible god among many, we find ourselves in deep trouble. The Psalmist has written, “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.”(119:11) It is high time we heard that admonition and obeyed.

