Good Morning September 18

Psalm 84 has a marvelous passage speaking about our hunger to be near the Lord. I remember the time when my wife and I were engaged. I was living with my parents. I would get home from work, have some supper, and then go over to Audrey’s house. One time my mother remarked, “You don’t have to go over there every night.” But I did. That is where I wanted to be. I was in love with her and wanted to be near her. That is the point of Psalm 84. “My soul yearns, even faints, for the courts of the LORD; … O LORD Almighty, my King and my God. Blessed are those who dwell in your house; they are ever praising you. … Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere;…” God is not a duty to be fulfilled. He is not a judge we need a appease with our good works. He is not a doctor who is the last resort in our troubles. God is our lover who has reached out to us before we ever thought of reaching out to Him. He is our redeemer demonstrating His love in the greatest of personal sacrifices. He is near at hand in good times and in bad. This is our God for whom our soul’s yearn to draw ever nearer.

