Good Morning December 16

When I was in grade school I was not a stellar student. I remember one pretty bad report card I brought home. My dad was sick in bed. When my mom showed him the report he wept. I had failed, and my failure hurt him greatly. I thought about that incident recently in connection with our heavenly Father grieving over our sin. We read a lot in the Old Testament about God’s wrath on Israel because of their sins, but this is not at the heart of our Lord. God declared through the Prophet Ezekiel, “As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live. Turn! Turn from your evil ways!”(33:11) Our sin hurts God. It is not what we were created for. It is not the good He very much wants for us. The supreme picture of the Father’s pain over our sin is when He watched His Son die a horrible death on a Roman cross bearing the weight of all our sins. I don’t remember the outcome of that bad report card, but I do remember not wanting to hurt my parents because of the love they had for me. We have cleansing and forgiveness in the grace of our Saviour, but our desire is to live so that we bring Him joy and not grief.

