Good Morning January 15

Churches have praise teams to lead in congregational singing. We have prayer and praise services. Scripture speaks of praise to the Lord over 300 times. God speaking through Isaiah said, “… my people, my chosen, the people I formed for myself that they may proclaim my praise.”(Isaiah 43:21) It can almost sound like God is an egotist demanding praise of His people, but this is the farthest from the truth. He is certainly worthy of our praise for all that He is, and all that He has done. God doesn’t need our praise, but we need to praise. In praise we draw near to our Lord who is the source of our life. In praise we find our identity as children of our Heavenly Father. In praise our eyes are turned from the trials of life to the source of our strength. No, God doesn’t need our praise, but He knows that as we come to Him in praise we are open to His life, and in His life we find life.

