Good Morning February 2

I don’t know how engaged you are in the political process. We all need to be to some degree because some of the people causing all of the present ruckus will be our national leaders for good or ill. I once asked a friend of mine who was interested in the possibility of a political office, “is it possible to be in politics and be absolutely truthful?” I don’t remember if I got an answer or not. Personally I don’t believe that it is possible within the current system we’ve allowed to come into being. Falsehood seems to be necessary for self-promotion, or to achieve a perceived good end. The latest Time magazine has a sidebar ranking countries from the least to the most corrupt. The U.S. is ranked 16th in the list. Not as bad as many, but certainly not great. This morning Ben Carson is accusing Ted Cruz of foul play in Iowa. What is it about us that we think we have to play loose with the truth in order to look better or achieve some purpose? I don’t even like a fib to get someone to a surprise party. We really don’t like the part of our liturgical confession where we say “I am by nature sinful and unclean”, but that’s exactly where it is. And the only solution is forgiveness and cleansing in the blood of Jesus Christ. We can think of many supposed exceptions, a falsehood to avoid hurting someone, etc. But there is always a better answer, and greater wisdom in the One who said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life…”(John 14:6)

