Good Morning April 7

When we are in the midst of difficult times it is hard to see beyond the pain. Cliches like “this will all turn out for good” are useless and even hurtful. No one sees or believes in a silver lining in the midst of the pain and loss. We have said before there are no good answers to many of the why questions of life, but there is hope in the Lord. There were many terrible time reported in scriptures, wars, famine, disease, persecutions, and more. God was not absent from any of them. His desire is always that hearts be turned to Him in trust. There are really only two choices in any tragedy, to curse God and die (internally if not physically) as Job’s wife counseled him,(Job 2:9) or as Job responded, “though he slay me, yet will I hope in him.”(13:15) The psalmists records many troubles, but their response was as that recorded in Psalm 73: “When my heart was grieved and my spirit embittered, I was senseless and ignorant; I was a brute beast before you. Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory. Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (vss.21-26)

[commnts on]

Leave a Reply

