Good Morning May 23 – 25

Many apologies for the off schedule GMs. My present location has a very slow internet service. I’ll try to keep us as best I can.

Monday

Along with all of his past media exposure and now in the Presidential campaign Donald Trump is being promoted everywhere. Everything he does has his name on it. Obviously he is very successful in several fields. Maybe that is what one needs to do to make a hundred million a year. The world esteems one who is highly successful, powerful, or famous, but that is not what impresses the Lord. “This is the one I esteem: he who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word,” the Lord said in Isaiah 66:2. “Humble and contrite” do not mean being a weak door mat for people to walk over. It means being solid in one’s God honoring values, being willing to stand by them regardless of persecution. It is having the assurance of our salvation in Jesus Christ which no one can take away. It is being content with the only praise that really matters, that of Almighty God. Money is nice, and we all need some of it, but what is truly lasting are those qualities that we will take into eternity.

Tuesday
Sometimes I think too much. I wonder, why God is? Why is He a God of love? An infinite God boggles my mind. I believe, teach, and confess that God is perfect love, justice, and mercy who has a magnificent eternal plan for the creation of mankind, but why should this be? Then I am reminded of the wonderful little Psalm 131. “My heart is not proud, O LORD, my eyes are not haughty; I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me. But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me. O Israel, put your hope in the LORD both now and forevermore.” I have so many “why” questions in life, and it is certainly right to think about our Lord, who has done everything necessary to draw us to Himself. But we are dealing with One we can never fully comprehend. Our peace is not in answering the why questing, but in “stilling and quieting our souls” as a young child with its mother, resting in what we know is infinite love.

Wednesday
At my age, and living in the community as long as we have, I’ve gained the habit of reading the daily obituaries. It was interesting what the writers choose to include in summarizing a life. What is chosen has a way of bringing out the best in a person. We know this is true in anything we write. We select material to convey the point we want to make. We would hope that news is fair and unbiased, but we know that it can’t completely be. The question is, do we know and trust the author? Scripture is not unbiased either. John, for example, tells us clearly that he has selected his material so “that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that by believing you may have life in his name.”(20:31) This really is the motivation behind all Scriptures. From Genesis through Revelation it is a book that invites us know God, and to turn our hearts toward Him. It is a book that has been given to us by God, Himself. It’s writing has been guided throughout by the Holy Spirit. Therefore, we can put our complete trust in the author, and as John says, find our life in Him.

