Good Morning June 17

Yesterday morning while waiting for a rehab appointment the TV was on in the waiting room. I have no idea why. It usually is more of an annoyance. However, in the midst of trying to read a paper I had brought with me I did catch a comment on one of the morning talk shows. Apparently they had been discussing the gains women had made in life. One woman made the remark, “I am living that life now. I really only do what I want to do, when I want to do it.” I thought, “how terrible, how totally self absorbed”. But I guess that is a commentary on our age. Life is so much more than that. Life is being a part of others, of giving, of caring. This doesn’t always feel good. It can be inconvenient at times. It can mean giving up, and sacrificing, but it is a life that has meaning and purpose. It is being needed and cared about by others. No one really needs that woman. It may sound good for a time, but the life that woman is describing is really a picture of hell. Jesus said to the crowd gathered around Him, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will save it.”(Luke 9:23-24)

