Good Morning June 21

Confined in an airplane seat at 38,000 feet there is not much to do but read, sleep, or stare out of the window. I did all of these on a two hour hop to Minneapolis. It is the staring out of the window part that caught my attention. I was looking at the plane’s wing. Mechanical things always fascinate me. I noticed the rivets on the wing’s surface. They were in a very specific pattern. Two parallel rows, four rivets pointing forward, then the two rows took a distinct 30 degree angle going on for another ten or so rivets. I have no idea why, but obviously an aircraft design engineer found a very specific need to place them that way. I can say I’m thankful for that, because it is part of what was getting me to Minneapolis. Just the thoughts of an idle mind? Perhaps, but the intentionality of the pattern means the presence of a very real designer. But then go back one step further, thinking about the mind of that designer. Intricate and more complex than anything in this craft that is holding me up at 38,000 feet. That mind had to have a Designer infinitely smarter than any collection of engineers that put this plane together. Paul wrote that “what can be known about God is clearly visible in the things God has made.”(Romans 1:20) For that Designer I am even more thankful.

