Good Morning July 26

I work from lists. I keep a pad on my desk listing things I need to accomplish this week. We keep a pad on the kitchen counter with a list of things we need from the store. I have a mental list of things I want to do over the next months. But there is one list I never keep. It’s the unkind things people have done or said to me. That list is just not worth keeping. It has been covered by forgiving, and forgetting. I figure that I have done a lot worse things to Jesus than anything anyone has done to me, and yet, He has forgiven me. It doesn’t mean that I am best buddies with everyone who has hurt me in the past, but I choose to forgive them, and let go of the issue in my heart. Resentment, bitterness, anger, and unforgiveness only drag me down. Whatever perverse joy there might be in hanging on to such thing is just not worth the darkness they bring to this new day. I try to pay attention to the prayer of our Lord, and forgive as I have been forgiven. I’ll continue to keep my to-do lists, but this is one list I really don’t need.

