Good Morning August 9

It is hard to be a sinner! Now that is a strange remark for a preacher to make. Aren’t we supposed to talk about sin, and our need for the atoning sacrifice of Christ? Certainly, we are. It is a continuing message of sharing the depth of grace God has given us in our Saviour. But somehow the confession that “I’m a sinner” gets stuck in the throat. After all, I try to be a decent person. I help my neighbor. I go to church. I try not to harm anyone. I know I’m not perfect, but there are a lot worse than me. So, it is hard for many to think of themselves as ones totally separated from God, and dependent upon God reaching out to us in Jesus Christ. But that’s where we are, totally dependent upon God doing something for us that we are incapable of doing for ourselves. It is when we see ourselves as sinners saved by God’s grace through faith in Jesus Christ, that He becomes such a treasure. Because of the love we have been given, our desire is to worship and serve Him, to grow closer to Him, and to give others the love we have been given in Jesus.

