Good Morning August 16

We talked about favorite hymns a few days ago. There are, of course, many, and vary with each individual, but one whose words are quite central to the foundation of our lives says, “My hope is build on nothing less that Jesus’ blood and righteousness”. We have many hopes in life. We hope our candidate gets elected. We hope our friend gets the new job. We hope the treatment is able to heal the disease. But under it all must be the foundation of our hope in Jesus Christ. “When darkness veils his lovely face I rest on his unchanging grace.” We have been let down by so many situation and people in our lives that there must be someone solid to which we can cling. “His oath, his covenant, his Blood, Support me in the whelming flood; When all around my soul gives way, He then is all may hope and stay.” Not everything in life turns out the way we would like, but there must be something more. We are assured that there is. “My anchor holds within the veil. On Christ, the solid rock, I stand; All other ground is sinking sand.”

