Good Morning August 26

Music is spoken of in many places in the Psalms. Some of it gets quite noisy – sounding of trumpets, harps and lyres, tambourine and dancing, strings and flutes, the clash of cymbals, and resounding cymbals. (Psalm150) But it is all aimed at the outpouring of praise and thanksgiving to our gracious God. Consider Psalm 71. “I will praise you with the harp for your faithfulness, O my God; I will sing praise to you with the lyre, O Holy One of Israel. My lips will shout for joy when I sing praise to you – I, whom you have redeemed. …”(vss.22-24) Well we might say, “that is really not my style of worship.” The point here is not one of style. It is a heart so filled with gratitude to our gracious Lord that it can’t be contained. Those who were the first witnesses to the resurrection of Jesus Christ were so filled with joy that it couldn’t be contained. It was so great that they spread the word to all the world in their generation. Jesus is still alive, and has done just as much for each of us. Should not our hearts overflow with joy?

