Good Morning September 28

Secular and sacred? Are these two different parts of life? We are in the secular all week. We read the secular in the news, and listen to it in the broadcast media. Then we set aside separate times, be it a morning devotion or a Sunday worship, and we call that sacred. I think we tend to compartmentalize our life in this way. But Paul wrote, “It is no longer I who live but Christ who lives I me.”(Galatians 2:20) For Paul, and for all who take the name Christian, life cannot be divided. Their identity, my identity, is in Jesus Christ, and all the world is viewed as a Christian. Our faith becomes the lens through which we hear, see, and read about all things. We don’t separate secular and sacred. Whether we are having a meeting at work or singing a hymn in church we are doing it as people who live in Jesus Christ. Our understanding of all life is through Jesus, through His work for mankind, and through His eternal purpose for mankind’s creation.

