Good Morning December 29

Only three more days to give to charities and get a tax deduction for this year! Many nonprofit organizations push hard this time of year to get that end of year giving. But it seems to me, for Christians, that should not be the motivation for our giving. Yes, it is helpful, and I use it for my taxes. But would I still give if the deduction were not allowed? Yes, I would. Christian giving should be a part of the two great commandments to love God and love neighbor. We give to honor God with our tithe, and to advance the truth of the Gospel. And we give to help our neighbor in need. Our giving is an outflow of the love that has so graciously been given to us. Certainly, as long as the government allows, use the tax deduction, but let love be the reason for giving no matter what time of year it is. 

