Good Morning January 19

Some time ago there was one of those cute poster pictures of a little kitten hanging onto a branch of a tree by its claws. The caption was something like “just keep hanging in there”. In a sense that is what Christians must do in our broken world. Though the Psalmist said it much better. “When my heart was grieved and my spirit embittered,… Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory. Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever… I have made the Sovereign LORD my refuge; I will tell of all your deeds.”(73:22-28) Our hope is not just in some vague wish that things will turn out better tomorrow, but in our God who has shown Himself faithful so often in the past. We may not see clearly right now, but “God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” He will not fail. He will see us through, completing the good plan He intends for our lives.

