Good Morning January 23

I don’t generally wear my clerical collar, except for church on Sundays, and when I’m doing some ministerial function. I’ve said that the collar carries no weight with the Lord, but it works well on hospital visits. In everyday life we tend to make all kinds of distinctions. We elevate a person with more education, wealth, or influence above the poor and so called common people. But Scripture teaches us in a number of ways that “God is no respecter of persons.” (Acts:10:34) God looks far deeper into each person. “For God sees not as man sees, for man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” (I Samuel 16:7) Wealth, education, and influence are nice if they are used for good and for the glory of God, “but, the Lord declares, to this one I will look, to him who is humble and contrite of spirit, and who trembles at My word.”(Isaiah 66:2)

