Good Morning May 18

I need to make a clarification on something I wrote earlier in the week. I was writing about God’s Kingdom being a real place and perhaps making it sound like it is far off and only real after we die. Two friends reminded me that the Kingdom is present wherever our Lord reigns. Jesus said, “repent for the Kingdom of heaven is at hand.” The Kingdom is present now through faith in Jesus Christ. The Kingdom is in our midst in many ways as God, by His grace reveals Himself, especially through His Holy Word and Sacrament. The Kingdom was present, as I shared on Monday, at the memorial service we had for a beloved sister. We now see the fullness of the Kingdom only dimly, but even that is a magnificent foretaste of all God has prepared for those who love Him. The God’s Kingdom is real, now and forever.

