Good Morning February 9

We took a trip yesterday of about 500 miles. I was driving, my daughter was riding, and with her phone was in contact with her siblings in Boston, Kansas, and Florida checking on their progress. This is the type of contact we’ve come to expect today. It is very convenient and helpful. It strikes me as interesting though, a journey of 500 miles a couple hundred years and more ago would have put people out of contact for days, weeks, or even months. We appreciate the technological progress, but this does not automatically translate into understanding and wisdom. Journeys were long with many hours to talk, observe surroundings, think about life, and so forth. This, at least, had the possibility of translating into some understanding and wisdom. I am not nostalgic to return to those days, but I do think we need to think more about life and less about instant communication. The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and that doesn’t come through a cell phone.